Count Down…

.. okay, I admit it. With all the priestly Advent hype that I’ve been selling about slowing down, taking stock, breathing, spending more time in contemplation and less time in the mall…

… with all that good advice ( and even some of my own following of that advice,) I find myself getting excited. Just a few days left until Christmas.

I had no sooner lit the fourth candle on the Advent wreath… than I blew it out so I could get out my christmas candlesticks…

I have entered in the baking frenzy in which my kitchen is covered in a soft dusting of flour and  confectioner’s sugar

… and there are lights.  All over the place.  Even on the jade forest in the family room.

So… I’m getting geared up.

My family is keeping pace. My son cut the tree, one daughter helped with the baking, and the other has spirited us on singing her endless rendition of  one line of “In the Bleak Mid-Winter.” 

HERE’S MY QUESTION TO YOU PARENTS WHO ARE SO ACCUSTOMED TO KEEPING ROUTINE, SETTING THE PACE and MAKING LIFE PREDICTABLE for your children who can’t tolerate CRAZINESS or EVEN A WELL INTENTIONED ACCELERATION OF JOY…

how do you do it?

what measures do you take to make the holiday pleasurable?

what kind of expectations do you set… for yourself… for your child… and how do you live into the moments as they play out?

Please share your ideas.

What you share here may very well be a holiday blessing for another.

Love,

Audrey

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

